Outcast…by by Denise Jaden

Posted January 12, 2019 by Karen in Books, Good to Know, Reviews /

Outcast…by by Denise JadenOutcast: Track One of the Living Out Loud Series Series: Living Out Load #1

by: Denise Jaden
Published by:Denise Jaden Books on April 20, 2018
Genres:Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: Mobi (Kindle file)
Source: Author (via YA Books Central)
Pages:256
Purchase: link
Goodreads

Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

She's not crazy.

Kass Bateman may be a lot of things, but she swears she's not crazy--even when she wakes up strapped to a wheelchair in a psychiatric hospital and can't remember how she got there.

When Kass's family members go missing one by one, she enlists the smartest guy she knows to help find them. Unfortunately for her, underneath his brains and indifference are some dark secrets and a whole lot of distracting sexy.

Can Kass keep her head together long enough to rescue her family members from their captors--the truly dangerous and crazy ones?

Gritty, steamy, and rife with secrecy, Outcast is the first book in a new upper YA/NA crossover series for fans of Gayle Forman and Rainbow Rowell.

Grab your copy of Outcast today!



*I received this book for free from the Author (via YA Books Central) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 

Kass Bateman is the tough girl in school. Kass has had a rough childhood and it shows through her personality. Both her parents are mentally ill and her mother has been missing for some time. When a mysterious girl shows up at Kass’s school claiming to be Kass’s half-sister, Kass is captivated. Kass, her friend Eli, and Kass’s sister set on a journey looking for Kass’s missing mom.

 

What I Loved:

 

By far the best element of this story are the characters. I was able to really connect with both Kass and Eli. I enjoyed Eli’s background story about his issues and how he dealt with his family. I also really liked Kass’s tough as nails personality.  I thought Kass and Eli’s slow burn romance was wonderful. I could really feel the chemistry between them. Who wouldn’t have a crush on Eli?

 

What Left Me Wanting More:

 

The plot and story arc just did not do much for me. The story about Kass and Eli looking for Kass’s parents was somewhat interesting in the beginning but once they entered into the part where Kass is trying to escape the mental hospital I was lost. The whole thing with them weaving back and forth through the halls was so unnecessary.  The whole situation in the hospital was also extremely strange and was not fully explained at the end. I was totally left with the feeling of ‘what is going on’.

 

My Final Judgement:

 

While the plot and story arc of this book were not my favorite, I loved the characters of Kass and Eli. I really loved their relationship. I plan to read the second installment in the series to see where their relationship goes from there.

 

Rating Breakdown
Plot
One StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Pacing
One StarOne StarOne Star
Cover
One StarOne StarHalf a Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Karen
Karen

About Karen

Karen is a native Orlandoian and still lives there with her family. She loves reading Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction ,’Chick Lit', YA, and Southern Fiction. Some of her favorite things are fuzzy animals, Bigalow tea, and air-conditioning.
FacebookTwitterInstagram Email

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply