The Roanoke Girls…by Amy Engel

Posted January 29, 2019 by Karen in Books, Mini Review, Reviews /

The Roanoke Girls…by Amy EngelThe Roanoke Girls

by: Amy Engel
Published by:Crown on March 7, 2017
Genres:Contemporary, Mystery/Thriller
Setting: Osage Flats, Kansas
Format: Mobi (Kindle file)
Source: Purchased
Pages:279
Purchase: link link link link
Goodreads

Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls.

Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.

But you won't when you know the truth.

Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family's rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.

But what she doesn't know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice...



Lane Roanoke returns to her ancestral home after her mother’s untimely death. Lane learns that everything and everyone within its walls are not as they seem.

 

Since ‘ The Roanoke Girls’ is such a polarizing book, I am going to keep this review fairly short. This book is engrossing and interesting. It has a mystery/thriller element that pushes the story forward. The dual timelines  added a bit of foreboding.  The characters are incredibly complex and human, both likable and unlikable at the same time. However, (and this is a big however) the storyline is gritty, raw, and graphic. It’s dark and disturbing.

 It’s about incest in its extreme. It’s about sexual abuse and victim blaming. It’s about women blaming each other and themselves for abuse at the hands of a man. It’s about things in our society that do happen but are rarely talked about, and it’s about the consequences of individuals behaviors going unchecked.

 

If these elements in a story are something you don’t want to read about then ‘The Roanoke Girls’ is not for you. If you are ok with these elements then this book is an amazing read.

Rating Report
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Pacing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Cover
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Karen
Karen

About Karen

Karen is a native Orlandoian and still lives there with her family. She loves reading Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction ,’Chick Lit', YA, and Southern Fiction. Some of her favorite things are fuzzy animals, Bigalow tea, and air-conditioning.
FacebookTwitterInstagram Email

Tags: , ,